The story

7 Jan

I seem to have a bit of writer’s block lately. Too many late nights researching aspects of this new venture, I think. I get home from my day job and veg out in front of the TV with my laptop and not very much productive stuff happens until the wee hours.

That being said, and since this is the first post of the new year I thought I would post a bit of how this idea – Blanket Statements – came to be. Why I created this company. Why am I doing this? Personally, I am going through a divorce. It is a process. A long process, so far. And as I wrote on the website, blankets are a special comfort to me. They always have been. When the world starts closing in on me, I look for a blankie.

But check out this post I wrote back in November. November 6th at 7:29PM to be exact. I keep a personal journal and I am so glad I did write this all down. I read it again for the first time today, and quite frankly, it brought a tear to my eye. I have a feeling this is a good thing. A great thing. For the shelter women and for me. Maybe you, the reader, too. We all need some warmth and comfort. And love.

November 6, 2010

So this thought has been in the making for a LONG time. Perhaps close to a decade even! Maybe a lifetime! How is that for buildup??

So here are the lead-ups to today’s epic story. Way back when I worked in corporate and thought I might be a lifer I wished for something more. Something better. Something that had meaning. To me and to other people. Supporting stockholder profits for electrical devices just wasn’t doing it for me. I thought perhaps I could work for a non-profit agency designing flyers or something. Something that had some meaning to someone.

Fast-forward to the recent events of the last couple days. I received an email from admin about neatly pressed jeans really set me off. As small, meaningless things do sometimes. I blamed my anger at it on a combination of other factors. But now I’m beginning to wonder if it wasn’t presented as a wake up call. Perhaps, rather than irritate me in my present state, I created this drama to spur me onto what the next greatest creation of me will be.

So that email has been churning around in my brain for the last 24 hours now. And at lunch today, sitting in the parking lot of the Goodwill store and listening to the progressive station on the radio, I was again reminded of how my heart seems to be pulling me to do something for the betterment of people. There has to be something that little low self-esteem me can do to not only bring myself up, but bring others up with me. I can feel it. It’s out there.

When I got back to the office, I read a post from a friend about how she saw a homeless man on the corner. She gave him $5 and he asked her if she had any extra blankets at home. Conversation followed about needy people and food, money, etc. But the story stuck with me. Something about him asking her for a blanket. A blanket. Probably because he was cold even though they are in Texas. Or perhaps he just wanted something comforting. Like I do. Like why I like blankets so much. Why they always seem to find a way into my shopping carts. Why I have about 8 blankets per person in my home. There is something hopeful about being warm. Comfortable. Comforted.

Took my girl to dinner and discussed the day. And politics, and “the email”, and that story. And while she was out of the room the whole plan came together. One piece right after the other. It all suddenly made sense. Now my wonder is, is someone else already doing it? And even if they are, I still think it is a fabulous idea that I would like to pursue. At least to see if it is feasible. This idea seems to have a pretty straight forward concept that could be easily developed into a business plan. That might also be attractive for financing. I think this idea could work.

I’m thinking of selling USA-made, organic, eco-friendly blankets. With the caveat that with each blanket sold, one will be donated to a women’s shelter or homeless shelter. The idea works for me on several levels. USA-made means jobs for workers. Organic materials means better for the environment. Donation to a shelter to help someone who needs comfort. And warmth. And good will.

Blankets. Once of my most favorite things. A “thing.” I was told as a child that I was too attached to “things.” And that made me selfish. Here is a “thing” that while it may not change the world on a grand scale, it may change the world for someone who doesn’t have one. It is a little piece of my heart that maybe I can share with someone who needs comfort.

Leave a Reply

