Highs and lows

15 Jan

 

Massive headache today! I think I spent too long under the blanket last night!

Yesterday, dear friends, was, as my daughter would say, an epic day. I received an email in the afternoon that Blanket Statements would be included in a national press release touting women owned businesses that support charitable causes. We were second on the list of about 15 companies listed. That was quite a delightful surprise! I filled out a survey a few weeks ago which basically just described that business, and the charitable cause part is a pretty central aspect to the business. If not for the donation to the shelter, I really wouldn’t be in business. I mean, I love blankets and all, but there are so many other places to get blankets. I understand that. My intention isn’t really to sell blankets. It is to share. To promote kindness. To bolster someone’s spirits who really needs just a simple act of kindness. That kindness just manifests itself in a blanket.

My goals this weekend are quite lofty. I am working up a page for Valentine themed blankets, which means photos, graphics, shopping cart buttons, et al. I am also struggling with writing up press releases. Although yesterday’s shot in the arm is a big boost to my ego. I’ve been struggling with writing lately, for no good reason. I can usually whip out a post daily at least…sometimes I have to sit on my hands to shut myself up. In examining this writer’s block, I think I may have pinpointed it to the fact that I am a little leary of self promotion. I think that is my lack of self esteem rearing it’s ugly head.

To those who don’t know me, I am an extremely shy person. I am not one to “toot my own horn.” I suddenly realized I’m not the “behind the scenes” girl on this one. I’m going to have to get out there and put a face on this company. My face. I’m going to have to meet people. And write to people. About why we are a great company. About why I started this company. About what I’m trying to accomplish. Me. Accomplish. And that’s hard for me because I am struggling with my own self esteem and trying to build up who I am as I’m going along. I just realized that I’m going to have to accelerate that process. The healing process is just going to have to pick up some speed!

There are days I have no doubt what-so-ever that this company is going to be phenomenal. But there are some days I just don’t have the same confidence in myself. I’m positive that Blanket Statements is a great business. It is a great cause. It is everything I stand for. I think it will be a success in spite of my short comings. Perhaps because of them. Because it is an idea that I need too.

Remember: spread the word. And share the warmth. Someone out there would love a warm, comforting blanket.

Leave a Reply

