Gotta love free java!

22 Jan

Filled up my gas tank today and was surprised with a free 24oz pepperminty chocolate coffee. I think today is my day!

I have all sorts of disjointed thoughts roaming around in my head today. And I can’t tell you how many times this week I’ve opened up the blog to write only to shut it back down. Everything I’d like to report on the blog is so tenuous right now. Shifting sand everywhere, nothing concrete to report. So I’ve put off writing. Figuring I would when I had something of substance to say.

But since I don’t know when that will be I will just put in a little update today. Being Saturday I am kid free for the time being. Girl at play rehearsal and boy at the girlfriend’s house. A perfect time to drink my free coffee and put life into perspective and get a few projects accomplished too.

This week brought my supply of eco-friendly packing materials. Kraft paper bags (big enough for local delivery of one or two blankets), kraft tissue paper, and several types of ribbons I’m experimenting with to tie the “Statement Cards” on the blankets with. Photos of the ribbons can be found on the Facebook page. Take a look and let me know which one (or ones) you like best. I see advantages to all three, and all three are wonderfully eco friendly.

I also received my sample run of business cards and post cards. I got them through Vista Print kind of on a lark. Figured I would try them and see how they turned out, and really not bad for the investment. Got 250 double sided recycled paper business cards and 100 mailable postcards. I even went with a standard design for the postcards rather than designing my own and they look pretty good.

And this week a suggestion was made for me to put a label on the blankets themselves. Which, I have to admit, I did consider early on, but gave up the idea due to cost. But I am revisiting it this week as I found some articles online about making eco-friendly cloth tags. Today my custom eco-green stamper came in the mail and I plan on trying it out on some organic muslin. I’m also planning to use the stamper on my Kraft bags too. So dual purpose purchase. Yea me.

Yesterday the girl and I stopped in at the local library and I came out with an armful of business and marketing books. I even filled the girls arms too. I am mainly looking to broaden our horizons. I think we are off to a great start, but now word of mouth really needs to take off. As well as advertising. I think it is time to branch out a little more.

The last couple days I also sent out our launch press release to several sources – mainly local ones like the Daily Herald, News Sun, Grayslake Review, Antioch Review, Libertyville Review, Trib local for McHenry and Lake counties. I’ve also joined a few more “Women in Business” groups and some “Green Forums.” I’m still waiting to hear back from the publications though. That is a little disappointing.

And on the suggestion of a new Flickr friend, I posted some of my photos on Flickr. Just some random photos I’ve taken over the years, some blanket shots, and a slew of self-portraits from the last 5 years or so. I’m not a big fan of having my photo taken – I’ve very self critical of how I look, but I’m going with the thought that putting myself out there is going to benefit not only me and my sef esteem, but this business too, since I need to be able to visible to people. I do a great job being the anonymous online personality. I need to work on being a real person.

Just a note on those self portraits though, I noticed in looking at the dates on them and in my own critical self reflection that I was really sad these last five years. Maybe just looking at them from where I am now – in my own place, on my own, without all the stress – it is really clear to me. I was kind of a mess! But that person is an integral part in this company. It was that person who searched for a shelter on several occasions. Just in case. Just because I wasn’t sure what was going to happen.

I am thankful for where I am today.

Leave a Reply

