The First Interview

11 Feb

Lake County Journal

 

What a day! I was contacted yesterday by a reporter from a local paper who I had sent a press release to a few weeks ago. Actually I was starting to give up on the online press release route. I was beginning to think that the snail mail press kit might be the way to go. Even bought my recycled catalog envelopes and was ready to start licking stamps. But then the call came! Woot!

So within 24 hours we were contacted and interviewed! I popped over to the newspaper office (took an early lunch from the day job) for the interview since I can’t really *do* phones. On the phone I’m really just guessing what people are saying, and that wouldn’t be so good for something as important as this!

So, me, being the goof that I am, ran over there camera in hand so I could snap a photo of the outside of the newspaper building to commemorate the event. Yes, I am that much of a dork. But it was pretty cool! Being interviewed, that is. I’ve never been interviewed before so I was totally not sure what to expect. I brought a press kit, and samples of the two cards that go on the blankets. Didn’t even think to bring the blankets! Doh! But I am now the proud owner of a reporter’s business card! That’s going up on my wall at home.

Anyway, the important stuff: the article should be in the Feb. 17th edition of the Lake County Journal. Visit the very, very nice people at the Lake County Journal here. They also have little newspaper dispensers all over the place in Lake County, IL. And if you’d like a copy and don’t live near one of those cute little red newspaper dispenser thingamabobs I’d be more than happy to snag one and mail it to ya! In a recycled catalog envelope, doncha know.

AND, get this…my newly found reporter friend said he would contact the McHenry County Journal people and see if they might be able to accompany me when I go to deliver the first stack of blankies to the shelter in Woodstock. I am heading out there next Friday since my girlie girl is off school. I’m taking some comp time from the day job and the girlie and I are going on our first delivery run. I am going to have her take some video in hopes that we can put together a little video promo. Any way to get the word out. I would love to see blankies everywhere! For everyone who needs some comfort. And warmth.

Blankies for ALL, I say.

One Response to “The First Interview”

  1. Cindy Urquhart February 12, 2011 at 1:08 AM #

    Congrats Leslie! It sounds like it really went well, looking forward to the video!
    Cindy

Leave a Reply

