So while I’ve got time…

9 Mar

I’ll post some more! Woot!

When I got married almost 20 years ago I was completely in the dark. About getting married. I had been disowned by my family and then finance and I decided to elope. To Boston. Some 1,000+ miles away. There are no books written on how to elope. At least there weren’t 20 years ago. Not a one. Believe me, I looked. Complete quandary about how you do it. Who do you call? I eventually copied ads and listings out of the Boston Yellow Pages from the library because I couldn’t find any other information. Looking back, I’m kinda wishing we would of opted for being married by the sea captain, but the Justice of the Peace we used was good too. It was a good time. An adventure, for sure.

Now that I’m getting divorced, I’m not really finding all that much helpful information either. There are lots of books on the subject…I’ve cleared out many a library shelf. Spent countless hours scouring the internet. But, I dunno, I still feel very alone in this process. I’ve come to find out there are a whole lot of people out there who are divorced that I didn’t know about. I guess when you’re in the middle of it you think you’re the only one who has faced these issues.

I guess I’m at that place where I wish there was a group of people I felt comfortable enough talking to who has been through all of this. The whole gamut. Divorce, bankruptcy, starting over, etc. Sometimes it is very overwhelming. Some days I’m on top of the world and revel at how far I’ve come. Some days I’m not sure how I’m getting up in the morning. And I wonder when I will see the light at the end of the tunnel.

I’ve always been a very private person. Certainly not a social person. Which is funny that I spend so much time on social networks…being a social entrepreneur. You’d think I’d find the anti-social network. lol Well, those of you that read, thanks for letting me babble. Tomorrow is another day.

In the meantime I’ll try to find something more entertaining to write about. Like squirrels perhaps.

Leave a Reply

