One of those weeks

13 Mar

This has just been one of those weeks. And strangely, it was one of those weeks for most everyone I came into contact with. The culmination of the week for me, though, was my car breaking down Friday night. It was perfectly fine driving over to the old house to talk to the boy. Had a decent conversation with the soon 2b ex, picked up some stuff, dropped off some stuff, chatted with my boy…all good until I went to leave. Car didn’t start on the first try. That’s odd, I thought. Just put a brand new battery in the car last week. Started up on the second try, though, so away I went. Only to go a half block and have the car start choking on me. Every time I tried to accelerate, the car died. Not so good. I was able to limp along back over to the boy’s school, and figured that would be the best place to break down since I do work for the district, and it was the weekend. I coasted into a spot and called one of my neighbors for help.

So the next morning we head back out there with another friend to see if we could figure out what was wrong with it. And to our surprise it started right back up! I drove it around the parking lot and all seemed dandy. So they followed me back towards home, but alas, it started choking up again, so I had to coast into another parking lot.

So my Saturday was basically, dealing with my car all over again. We waited for the tow to get to the mechanic for a couple hours, and there is where it remains. I guess I will hear tomorrow what the verdict is. Oh, and on top of that, my dryer stopped working. I was able to get that fixed back up though. Going to tackle Mt. Washmore shortly.

All in all, it could have been much worse than it was. I really need to keep that positive thinking going. I am blessed to have a car at all at this point, even one held together with duct tape. I have the best friends a person could ask for. I spent a good portion of yesterday with tears welling up in my eyes because of how desperate my situation feels sometimes, but also because I am so grateful for the support from my friends who are helping me every step of the way and make sure I don’t fail. I really don’t know what I would do without them.

Leave a Reply

