One blanket, three goals

3 May

I’d like to tell you a story. The story starts with a blanket. Several blankets actually, but one blanket in particular. I started Blanket Statements with three goals in mind, really. The first was to find a way to instill in other women that they were not alone in their predicament. That others have been and are going through what they are. That even if someone hasn’t been through what they have, people still care about people an awful lot. I also wanted to find a way to support American made products in an eco-friendly manner. Three goals: help women, help my country, help my planet.

In researching which blankets to offer for sale, I had a seriously difficult time finding anything made in the United States. But I have found two companies to work with. One on the east coast, and one in the south. They are companies I will detail in a later post. But I wanted to mention them, because I feel it is important. I was getting quite disheartened at how just about every blanket I found was imported from elsewhere. What happened to textile mills? What happened to the Union label?

Luckily, though, I did find two companies that manufacture in the United States using good old American labor, and utilizing earth conscious methods. Two blankets featured on Blanket Statements use yarns made with ECO2cotton. ECO2cotton is a sustainable option for many consumer and industrial products. The manufacturing process helps conserve precious natural resources and creates cotton-like fluff that can be used for stuffing or for spinning into yarns.

The ECO2Cotton process reduces incinerator and landfill use, by reprocessing pre-consumer textile waste. The cotton fibers require no new dying, saving water and adding no new pollutants. There is no land use, water irrigation, fertilizers or pesticides used to grow new cotton. Simplified manufacturing practices reduce energy and resource use. ECO2cotton is a wonderful eco-friendly alternative.

Eco-friendly blankets, made in the USA, and sold to benefit women in need. That’s what Blanket Statements is all about.

Leave a Reply

