Wild Canadian $2.55

18 Aug

Yea! A random post about me! Every once in a while I feel the need to throw in a post about, well, me and my crazy life. Looking back, it has been quite a ride. As a child, I was quite enterprising. I used to make stuff and sell it at school. Little pom-pom creatures, rocks with faces, fish I caught out of a neighborhood pond. You name it, I peddled it. And I started legitimately working at a young age. I volunteered at the local hospital when I was 12, and got a job at a local restaurant when I was 15.

Now, this wasn’t just any restaurant. And in looking back on the experience, I like to call it the hooker bar. It wasn’t really a hooker bar, because, well, that would just be wrong. Especially working there as a 15 year old. This was an actual restaurant known and loved be lots of people. And I had a blast working there, mostly. I did get an occasional proposition, and a couple marriage proposals even. The restaurant, which is long gone – was called Tin Cup Pass. It was a popular hangout (read: bar) back in the western infused 1980’s.

 

 

Tin Cup was a 2-story restaurant and bar located in suburban Chicagoland. There were a couple locations, all of which are now other restaurants. The decor at Tin Cup was kind of like you’d find in the local Applebee’s, except all country western stuff. Big tin coffee pots, frying pans, boots, spurs, bridles, all sorts of that kind of stuff hanging on the walls. Oil lamps over the tables, booths inside jail cells, multiple levels, multiple bars, lots of fun.

The thing about Tin Cup, however, was, as a girl you had to play dress up. And dress up consisted of a low-cut leotard, a twirly skirt hiked up on the side, garter belt, and 4 inch high heels. The waitresses also got to wear fun headbands with feathers. I, as a fifteen year old, was a hostess, not a waitress, but we were not off limits for comments too. It was an interesting experience to say the least.

 

Tin Cup, did, however, have some fabulous food. I was thrilled to find a menu on ebay (I borrowed the photos). My personal favorite was the mini pan pizza they had and the ham sammie with the green peppers and mushrooms. Oh my goodness that was an awesome sandwich. You could also get a sasparilla in a fun take home cup. I still have one prominently displayed in my kitchen.

 

 

Unfortunately I don’t think any photos of the Tin Cup era exist. I haven’t been able to find anything at all about the restaurant online, other than the menu and sasparilla photos. I would love to find photos of the inside or the “uniforms”. lol. I think I may even still have some of the notes passed to me from when I worked there. What a trip. The hooker bar.

 

2 Responses to “Wild Canadian $2.55”

  1. cathy & mark January 8, 2012 at 9:31 AM #

    We both used to work there and had so much fun. We miss the pizza and the bread! I always wonder what happend to some of the people that worked there. Larry the bartender, Smitty, Ray (bartender) etc… Wondering who you were. I started as a bus girl then waitress then bookkeeper and day manager. My husband was the kitchen manager around 1980 to 1983…
    I wish someone could start it over again because the restaruant was so busy. I rember 2 hour waits!

    • sharewarmth January 8, 2012 at 7:47 PM #

      Cathy, I worked there the summer of 1981 until about Feb or March 1982. I had such a crush on one of the assistant managers Ken, I think his name was. I don’t remember too many other people’s names. I do remember a waiter named Bill who worked stations 4 & 7, and another waiter named Jeff. I also worked Jan 10, 1982 which was one of the coldest ever and no one came into the restaurant so I got to sit at the bar with jeans on and drink hot chocolate and watch football. The water pipes burst out front too and there were gigantic ice sculptures in the entryway. It was quite a place.

Leave a Reply

