December 2011

27 Dec

Greetings all! It’s almost the end of 2011!

I decided that today will be a look back at the beginnings of Blanket Statements. It’s been a year already,  or almost a year depending on what you count as the start of things. The first blog post about the idea came in early December 2010. The first order (thanks Kirsten!) came the last week of December. The website launch was really in January 2011. But any way you look at it, it’s pretty much our anniversary time.

In the next day or two I will outline our official Anniversary Giveaway. I’m still working out some details, but it should be fun. It’s always fun to win stuff right?

But for today, I thought a look back was in order. To see from whence we came. It seems like just yesterday that the ideas I had swirling around in my head all decided to congeal into a business plan. I think I first mentioned it to the kids when we were driving somewhere. Mentioned it like this crazy idea that crazy mom came up with. I was still in the mind set that anything I came up with was a dumb idea.

But I pressed on anyway. Couldn’t hurt to try, right? So we did it. And a lot of people took notice!

January 2011

February 2011

  • Featured writeup in the Lake County Journal newspaper
  • Featured writeup in the Northwest Herald Business section
  • Featured on the McHenry County Turning Point blog

March 2011

April 2011

  • Guest Blogger on “Living My Moment” blog

June 2011

July 2011

August 2011

September 2011

October 2011

November 2011

December 2011

 

And goodness, there are so many other things too…groups I’ve become involved with, we’re just shy of 1000 facebook fans and 200 twitter followers, the list goes on and on.

So I thank you all, each and every one of you for the strides we’ve made this past year in launching our little social enterprise. And when I say “we” I really mean “we”. You and I. I think we’re on the tide that will change the way people purchase things. Someday it won’t be all about the bottom line. It won’t be about corporate profits. It will be about people sharing in the common good for everyone. Sharing warmth, comfort, and love.

Leave a Reply

